Tale from a Former Coffee Lover

image

I have just discovered my perfect coffee alternative hot drink. It’s healthy, creamy, and might I add, delightful. Because the effects of caffeine have become increasingly disappointing to me, I have had to move on from my rocky relationship with coffee.

Any fellow coffee lover may understand how difficult it is to part ways with this delectable demon of a beverage if you’ve ever tried. Whether it’s an overpriced espresso prepared by a professional student in a dimly lit cafe or a fair trade French roast brewed at home that strikes your fancy, coffee has a hold over a large chunk of the population in one form or another. It is a drug after all. And we live in an era when stimulants keep the world going round.

But what do you do if caffeine is causing you more trouble than healthful aid? We’ve all encountered the benefits of coffee. It boasts of antioxidants, mood enhancing qualities, and the ability to prevent an array of diseases like Alzheimer’s, type 2 diabetes, and Parkinson’s (though let’s face it, most of us are just in it for the high). It might make you feel “regular” when it comes to bowel movements, and supposedly helps you lose weight as an appetite suppressant. But I have personally never met someone who has lost weight drinking coffee, and coffee is a diuretic, meaning it is actually causing you to lose fluids and accompanying nutrients: hardly a fair compromise for frequent poops if you ask me. And then there are those people who are sensitive to caffeine.

Enter the rising minority of people trying to banish the brew from their lives for good. If someone had told me a year and a half ago that I would willingly give up on my daily caffeine fix, I might have spit my coffee out at them. I was the typical wild-eyed, pissed-off-until-coffee-is-under-my-flaring-nostrils, totally not a morning person, bona fide caffeine addict. I mean the I-experienced-flu-like-withdrawal-symptoms type of addict. I would shove small children out of my way to get to my morning coffee.

And yet, here I am, perfectly content, sipping on a cup of a non-caffeinated, non-coffee product–that tastes … kind of like coffee–with absolutely no cold sweats, no caffeine headache, and not an ounce of desire to get back on that crazy train/roller-coaster of caffeine highs and lows. If you follow the notion of adrenal fatigue, coffee is one serious culprit. And don’t get me started on its ill effects on a lady’s menstrual cycle. Ugh.

So now, to my point. I have discovered the wonderful world of chicory coffee. Although it’s hard to come by a brand that’s not an instant type drink, Teeccino is a promising candidate for the fresh brew experience. I have yet to try it because it is M.I.A. in stores near me. But it’s up there on my bucket list.

For any gluten-free readers, you will want to steer clear of the instant chicory coffees as they contain other ingredients such as barley and wheat, and the gluten is of course dissolved right in with your brew. But gluten is not extracted through boiling water, so if using Teeccino no gluten should be getting into your drink (barring a coffee maker seeping grounds into your cup).

I am currently using Caf-lib, and though it still has that freeze-dried burnt flavor aftertaste typical of instant coffee, I am actually impressed. I prefer it to instant coffee. I think the aftertaste is less pronounced in the chicory drink. I’ve seen a few different brands around and look forward to getting my hands on them so I can write a comprehensive review and choose my favorite. In the mean time here is the delicious concoction I have come up with for a sweet and creamy healthful hot beverage:

Chicory Coffee Coconut Latte

Ingredients:

  • One cup chicory brew
  • Canned coconut milk, with a bit of water (I use Aroy-D, since it’s the only one I’ve found with only one ingredient)
  • a tsp of unpasteurized honey (or however much or little suits your fancy)

    Method:

  • Brew or mix your chicory coffee as per instructions and pour a cup. Leave room for milk (I leave about one-third of my cup, but it is up to your discretion as coconut milk is quite creamy)
  • dissolve honey in drink
  • Optional: Mix your coconut milk with some water. I have used leftover milk after cooking, and perhaps did not mix it together enough initially, so I’ve been left with some very thick coconut milk in the fridge the next day. Not functional without water.
  • Shake your milk (if you have a milk frother, even better, but possibly not as fun). I use a mason jar. Now, shake that milk–and your booty too if you’d like–until it’s nice and frothy.
  • add to coffee and enjoy!

    Easy peasy. Tell me what you think. Got any delicious recipes up your sleeve?

    Image courtesy of luigi diamanti at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

  • 3 thoughts on “Tale from a Former Coffee Lover

    1. Sounds wonderful. I have however never liked the taste of coffee. I have tried it on occasion but just never taken to it. I have been a tea drinker all my life however in the past couple of months have changed my tastes even there. I find myself drinking more and more herbals and green teas than my favourite blacks. 🙂

      • It is interesting how our taste for things can change. I find the more healthy foods I eat, the less I can enjoy junk foods. Even the flavor of things seems different. And it was amazing to see how much different foods were while I was pregnant. I believe we should listen to what our hormones are telling us!

    Leave a Reply

    